
" Loved the show guys, but wasn't hearing the ringtone ". Yes this is a true statement heard by my man, in a dressing room recently with a band's A and R man from the record label. What bollocks !
And dear readers, that about sums it up for me. No longer is music important for the talent of the artist, no longer are we able to watch a show without hearing for example " Australia's Funniest Home Videos " ( which are shite btw and I don't watch but did catch briefly by mistake whilst looking for something else on ABC ) brought to you by " Coon Cheese " or " Sunrise Weather " brought to you by......INSERT NAME OF MULTINATIONAL COMPANY WITH NO SCRUPLES HERE....
I don't want to be part of a ringtone culture, where the ringtone is more important than the song, or where the film is written around the hype ( Shrek ) or the TV show is more advertising than substance.
When did we start making the publicity and sponsorship the deal and not the actual film/song/show/ etc......?
I dislike mobile phones and usually let mine run out of charge...but what I don't like even more is the ads with some poncey male voice on the TV aimed at young kids talking about the ringtone for only $9,000 000 per use with a monthly fee of $6 billion ( in tiny little letters ).
I have never watched ' Big Brother ' and never will. Reality TV ? No it isn't. Reality TV is about reality, " Big Brother ' to me is from a George Orwell book, not a silly show about a group of brattish spoiled people, who live together in a house in a totally UNREALISTIC way....Don't get me started on the cult of fame as seen in Australian Idol too...Commercial channel TV is banned in our house....occasionally I slip, but for the main I am able to stay away easily.
Ok kids, rant over...and if you do like 'BB', please don't be offended, as I speak only from my point of view.